TOO BUSY TO WRITE? DON’T WORRY ABOUT IT.

This morning I saw a piece by one of those pedants who declare that writers must write every day. Or what? I thought, and of course the answer came immediately – if you don’t write at least something every day, you can’t call yourself a writer.

It’s no secret that there are some ridiculous people about. Relatively harmless, of course, in the grand scheme that allows for crazy peddlers of war, and the usual tribe of liars, thieves and predators of one type or another. Mostly, obviously, it’s better to leave them to it, let them spout on about what you should do or shouldn’t. Especially when it comes to writing.

That said, judging from some of the reactions to the piece, there are those who are insecure enough to take seriously at least this character, who appears to have a couple of books out, even to the point of being hurt or cast into a fit of depression and doubt. (Not that I consider depression and doubt to be inevitably negative states. They’re just one more condition of the human psyche or spirit that we have to deal with, and out of which creative stuff can happen.)

Anyway, it occurred to me that for the last couple of weeks I haven’t written a thing. A new, confusing, incredibly annoying laptop hasn’t helped. Why are the people who make these things seemingly so intent on ‘upgrading’ them? I suppose they get paid to think of new stuff a laptop can do but I suspect they forget that most of us just want something that’s simple to operate and quick to fathom out. In my case I’m far too thick to adapt to a new and complex system of icons and symbols. I even had to be showed where the on-off button was hiding… Mostly this has driven me away from technology to the point where I’ve hardly even used my phone, let alone the internet. Please don’t get me started on the vile idea of closing physical ticket offices at train stations. I have no interest whatsoever in buying a ticket online and downloading some App or other.

I’ve taken to transcribing old poems stored forgotten in some ethereal hole (like this site) back into longhand. I’ve been busy looking after hens, arranging for new middle white pigs to come at the beginning of August, watching Test cricket, working on bits and pieces on our smallholding. I’ve also read a fine book about the West Bromwich Albion championship-winning season of 1919-20, part of a novel that bored me so much I tried reading it from last chapter to first. (No improvement.) I also read about a protest march by London’s wig-makers in 1764 when, it seemed, wigs were going out of fashion and ‘wearing your own hair, if you have any’ was becoming so popular they faced ruin.

Writing poetry? Nah. Though I did dig a book from 20 years ago off the shelf, Rain On The River, by a Californian poet, Jim Dodge, which reminded me why I kept it. Take his poem The Banker, which begins: His smile is like a cold toilet seat. [Mind you, that’s sometimes preferable to a very warm toilet seat – Ed.] He shakes my hand as if he’s found it floating two weeks dead in a slough. These are poems of madness, fun and impulse but also of domesticity, of a family and working life full of ordinary, extraordinary, passionately respected events, of a life shaped by memories passed and recorded through generations where you strive to live what you’re given as well as you can. It’s one of those books where the writing feels relaxed almost to the point of diffidence but is anything but. I think from what I read about him, Dodge has concentrated on novels since Rain On The River was published, which would seem the novel’s gain and poetry’s loss. If you can pick up a copy somewhere, I’d heartily recommend it.

Now, I guess, if I feel like it, and if life doesn’t bring other interruptions or joys, maybe it’s time once again for writing something approaching a poem. Or whatever it turns out to be.

I am a writer, you see, dear pedant. It’s what I do.

5 thoughts on “TOO BUSY TO WRITE? DON’T WORRY ABOUT IT.

  1. Magnificent. Bob Mee is the voice of sanity in a world gone wrong. Long may he travel on paper tickets and champion lines of poetry from across the decades that even their authors have forgotten they’ve written. Bravo, Bob!

    Sent from Outlook for Androidhttps://aka.ms/AAb9ysg ________________________________

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started