ONE OF THOSE ‘I DID THIS, I DID THAT’ RECORDS OF A WEEK

This week I was shot at and my fantasy football team flopped.

We saw the Albion win 4-2 without playing that well.

I bought 150 kg of pig feed and we went for a walk on the Burton Dassett hills.

The three pigs have grown so well I no longer worry about predators,

so they can stay in their hut or be outside as they please.

I bought some excellent monkfish from the market

and cooked it for the two of us

with butter, garlic, capers, salt and tomatoes

and a dish of potatoes, carrots and cauliflower roasted in olive oil.

Ah yes, though, you’re probably thinking about that first line.

I phoned the police to report the person who shot at me

with a high-powered rifle

from the glider’s field as I was carrying fresh water

to the pigs and hens.

A careless new gamekeeper? Or just an idiot?

I told them the bullet passed close

because I heard its hiss or whoosh a fraction before the crack of the gun

echoed off the edge of the wood.

I saw the man standing by his pick-up, reloading.

The police asked for a description and also

if there was a conversation afterwards.

I told them ‘Yes, I was cross, so yelled at him, swore at him.’

He fired again but not in my direction.

The police said there was not much they could do

as by then he had driven away but

to call them if he did it again.

I’m considering using the Wildcard in Fantasy League

to change my entire team. Depressing, this early

in the season. The transfer window shuts on Friday.

What will have happened at the Albion by then?

There is no money to buy. Who will have left?

While my neighbour is away I am looking after his hens,

his quail and the chicks he bought at a day old

the day before he went on holiday.

The chicks have grown fast,

I’m pleased none have died.

I lost one quail when it surprised me and flew off.

I thought I saw it in the poly tunnel where the tomatoes

are doing well, but when I went in, there was only

a female blackbird pecking at a fallen cucumber.

Although the mornings are sunny

the heavy rain that lasted half an hour around dawn

has left the grass wet.

Small oaks are springing up where I planted acorns last year.

Today I will dig up the next batch of potatoes.

Together we will pick blackberries.

I will look again at my fantasy football team.

This evening we might watch some of the US Open tennis.

Or a film. We have some to catch up on

that we’ve recorded over the last few weeks.

That’s about it, really.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started